HOW to use two UART in Wandboard solo

Discussion of your EDM baseboard, your add-on boards or other peripherals for your wandboard.

HOW to use two UART in Wandboard solo

Postby moizmore » Mon Dec 15, 2014 4:59 am

Hi,
I want to use two UART in my project with wandboard solo but it seem only one UART port there.
How to add one more?
moizmore
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 4:55 am

Re: HOW to use two UART in Wandboard solo

Postby JayminD » Mon Dec 15, 2014 5:57 am

Hello moizmore,

First you find out the UART no. which you want to use.
Basically UART3 connected to WI-Fi module for Bluetooth in WB solo.
and UART1 is for consoles.

so UART2 is only free.
Its TP is TP123-Tx and TP125-Rx as per schematic.

You can find a diagram from below link.

http://wandboard.org/images/downloads/wandboard-user-guide-20130208.pdf

So you use 2 UARTS parallel. (May be 3)
UART1 - for console
UART2 - for your own purpose which you want to use.

and UART0 - if any LCD connected.... :?: :!:

You have to enable the UART on U-boot using arguments.

e.g. for console related UART argument will become like below.
Code: Select all
setenv console ttymxc1

savenv


for LCD related UART (which is UART0)

Code: Select all
setenv mmcargs setenv bootargs console=${console},${baudrate} consoleblank=0 root=${mmcroot} xl4 video=mxcfb0:dev=lcd,LCD_NAME,if=RGB666 video=mxcfb1:off

savenv


here mxcfb0 is for UART0.

this type you can use other UARTs.

May be this information helpful to you. :)

Regards

Jaymin D
JayminD
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:46 am
Location: INDIA

Re: HOW to use two UART in Wandboard solo

Postby moizmore » Mon Dec 15, 2014 1:38 pm

Hi,
Thanks for your reply
Actually I want to know that I need to connect GSM module with 1 UART and from other UART I am taking data from RS-232 port, so is it possible

thanks.
moizmore
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 4:55 am

Re: HOW to use two UART in Wandboard solo

Postby JayminD » Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:18 pm

Hello,

I want to know that I need to connect GSM module with 1 UART and from other UART I am taking data from RS-232 port, so is it possible
:)

Yes It is possible.

By default u can take data from UART1 to serial console, so u can use this UART and take GSM's data or any other and u can examine into hyperterminal, minicom etc....

and u can connect GSM module to one of your free UART i.e UART2 for WB solo, anable this UART and u can use. :)

May this help you

Regards

Jaymin D
JayminD
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:46 am
Location: INDIA

Re: HOW to use two UART in Wandboard solo

Postby moizmore » Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:10 am

Hello Jaymin D,

Thank you for reply
this will help me.
moizmore
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 4:55 am

Re: HOW to use two UART in Wandboard solo

Postby moizmore » Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:46 pm

Hi
I want to know that can we interface GSM module directly to USB with USB-serial in wandboard?
serial will be connected to GSM module and USB on wandboard.
pls reply.
moizmore
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 4:55 am

Re: HOW to use two UART in Wandboard solo

Postby JayminD » Fri Dec 19, 2014 8:48 am

Hello,

serial will be connected to GSM module and USB on wandboard.
.

I think "NO", for that you need a USB to serial converter.
But apart from that things, just buy GSM modem USB type, it's very convenient to you. :|

and you can't direct connect GSM serial to USB on WB, you need to be serial to USB converter. :!:

Regards

Jaymin D
JayminD
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:46 am
Location: INDIA


Return to Hardware and peripherals

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests