sound module failed

You have a problem with your Wandboard and want to ask the community for help.

sound module failed

Postby culler » Fri Sep 19, 2014 11:35 pm

Hello,

I am posting here at the request of Future Electronics as a prerequisite for getting support from Wandboard.

I purchased a Wandboard dual Rev C1 from Future. I have a Wandboard dual Rev A1 which I have been using for 9 months. I use the Wandboard A1 primarily to play music on a stereo in a bedroom. I bought the C1 to replace the Zotac Zbox which is currently doing the same job in my living room.

I installed the latest ubuntu image from Wandboard on an SD card (and added /usr/sbin/sshd which was missing from that image for some mysterious reason.) Since the wireless interface seemed flaky (e.g. would not restart on a soft reset) I built new bcmfmac modules from linux backports. That fixed the problems with the wireless. So then I compiled and installed my music software on the C1 and tested it. Everything worked fine when I used the line out jack. (I had hoped to be able to use my Fiio SP/DIF DAC, since the miswiring of the SP/DIF port had supposedly been corrected on Rev C1, but I was not able to get the DAC to sync to the Wandboard.)

At this point I moved the C1 to my living room and connected it to my stereo. I was able to listen to music for a few hours. Then, in the middle of an album, the sound stopped. I had not made any changes to software or hardware, I was just playing mp3's. Since that time I can not get any sound from the C1, except for a pop when the Wandboard boots and another pop when the ALSA driver is initialized. The alsamixer recognizes the sgtl5000 and appears normal. But there is no sound. Using aplay to play a .wav file also produces no sound. Everything else works normally. The computer boots and connects to my network. I can login by ssh. I have a unity desktop if I connect a monitor. But I have no sound.