Change resolution on Wandboard Quad

Discuss Ubuntu related items.

Change resolution on Wandboard Quad

Postby GTRONICK » Thu Apr 02, 2015 9:28 pm

Hi everybody!

I have a Wandboard Quad Rev. C1 with Ubuntu 12.04 installed. Ubuntu image from Wandboard.org boots normally, but the screen resolution is always 1920x1080 :shock:
I can't change it on Display settings, because that is the only option.

I use a HDMI to DVI-D cable. The monitor has DVI-D input.

I need the right resolution for my monitor which is 1024x768.

I tried the following after boot:

Code: Select all
cat /proc/cmdline

Returns:
Code: Select all
console=ttymxc0,115200 root=/dev/mmcblk0p1 rootwait rw


then i did:

Code: Select all
cat /sys/class/graphics/fb0/mode

Returns:
Code: Select all
U:1920x1080p-60


Im using a HDMI to DVI cable. The monitor has DVI-D input. Provided by Hope Industrial Systems.

jury093 advised me the abore procedure. Thanks jury!

Any help is appreciated.
User avatar
GTRONICK
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 8:55 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: Change resolution on Wandboard Quad

Postby jury093 » Fri Apr 03, 2015 8:42 pm

GTRONICK wrote:Hi everybody!
Im using a HDMI to DVI cable. The monitor has DVI-D input. Provided by Hope Industrial Systems.
Any help is appreciated.

Hi!
I seem to have lost my old sources and notes.. :/
But I found my notes for imx6s (younger brother imx6q)
try add to kernel command line:
Code: Select all
video=mxcfb0:dev=dvi,1024x768M@60,if=RGB24


update no, this not work..
jury093
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:41 am
Location: Sankt-Peterburg, Russia

Re: Change resolution on Wandboard Quad

Postby GTRONICK » Mon Apr 06, 2015 12:48 pm

I have tried some similar, but at the boot, setting the video environment variable on u-Boot. That work really nice, but, is not permanent. Is there any way to make the sentenv persistent?

=>setenv bootargs 'console=ttymxc0,115200 video=mxcfb0:dev=hdmi,1024x768@60,if=RGB32 root=/dev/sda1 rootwait rw'
=>boot

I can get the 1024x768 resolution on the Robert Nelson's image, setting that value in the uEnv.txt file, but, the ubuntu 14.04 image does not recognize my monitor. i always have the Gtkwarning message: cannot open display. on Xrandr i get cannot open display. I have tried export DISPLAY=:0.0 but that does not work.
User avatar
GTRONICK
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 8:55 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: Change resolution on Wandboard Quad

Postby jury093 » Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:10 pm

GTRONICK wrote:I have tried some similar, but at the boot, setting the video environment variable on u-Boot. That work really nice, but, is not permanent. Is there any way to make the sentenv persistent?
=>setenv bootargs 'console=ttymxc0,115200 video=mxcfb0:dev=hdmi,1024x768@60,if=RGB32 root=/dev/sda1 rootwait rw'
=>boot

you can try enter next sequence:
=>setenv bootargs 'console=ttymxc0 ... etc'
=>saveenv

command saveenv save current setting to permanent storage location..

if in u-boot console enter command help, then you can see full list of command current version of u-boot..

I can get the 1024x768 resolution on the Robert Nelson's image, setting that value in the uEnv.txt file, but, the ubuntu 14.04 image does not recognize my monitor. i always have the Gtkwarning message: cannot open display. on Xrandr i get cannot open display. I have tried export DISPLAY=:0.0 but that does not work.

I very bad know Ubuntu.. try locate file xorg.conf (/etc or /usr).
if file exist - check section "Device"
if not exist, enter command
Code: Select all
Xorg -configure

command will generate "~/xorg.conf.new"
try put this file to
Code: Select all
mv xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf

next, you need discovery setting and try start startx

imho, setup graphics system (Xwindows) - the hard way. And if setup only soft framebuffer relatively easy, , for graphics hardware support required support libraries from Freescale and more difficult..
jury093
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:41 am
Location: Sankt-Peterburg, Russia

Re: Change resolution on Wandboard Quad

Postby GTRONICK » Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:56 pm

Oh, thanks a lot Jury, i will try it. Sorry for the late response, but, i'm not receiving email notification hehehehehe. A soon as i do this, i will submit the results.
User avatar
GTRONICK
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 8:55 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: Change resolution on Wandboard Quad

Postby GTRONICK » Tue May 05, 2015 1:32 pm

Hi!, here the results. As you can see, the device is not detected. What could i do?

Code: Select all
ubuntu@arm:/etc/X11$ sudo Xorg -configure

X.Org X Server 1.15.1
Release Date: 2014-04-13
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 3.2.0-67-highbank armv7l Ubuntu
Current Operating System: Linux arm 3.19.3-armv7-x3 #1 SMP Fri Apr 17 16:30:08 COT 2015 armv7l
Kernel command line: console=ttymxc0,115200 root=/dev/mmcblk0p1 ro rootfstype=ext4 rootwait video=HDMI-A-1:1024x768@60e
Build Date: 12 February 2015  02:55:07PM
xorg-server 2:1.15.1-0ubuntu2.7 (For technical support please see http://www.ubuntu.com/support)
Current version of pixman: 0.30.2
   Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
   to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
   (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
   (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Tue May  5 13:30:32 2015
List of video drivers:
   modesetting
No devices to configure.  Configuration failed.
(EE) Server terminated with error (2). Closing log file.


Note: The saveenv command at boot, for uBoot, works perfect! in my Ubuntu 12.04 image. The monitor still to be not recognized on Ubuntu 14.04 image.
User avatar
GTRONICK
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 8:55 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: Change resolution on Wandboard Quad

Postby GTRONICK » Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:35 am

After some research, I finally can change the resolution to my actual monitor. I used xrandr, creating a new modesetting, and creating a script which starts at system startup.
I followed this article: http://www.ubuntugeek.com/how-change-di ... randr.html

At: "$gksudo gedit /etc/gdm/Init/Default" this does not work for me, so, I have created a .desktop file and, put it at /home/username/.config/autostart
You can also use the startup application manager of your distro:

For LXDE: lxsession

UPDATE: I'm using the Ubuntu 14.04 image from Wandboard.org downloads site.
User avatar
GTRONICK
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 8:55 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: Change resolution on Wandboard Quad

Postby GTRONICK » Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:24 pm

After trying with another monitor, I still cant change the resolution using:

Code: Select all
setenv bootargs 'console=ttymxc0,115200video=mxcfb0:dev=hdmi,1024x768@60,if=RGB32 root=/dev/mmcblk0p1 rootwait rw'


The resolution is always 1280x720
How can I modify the resolution using the boot parameters. The above command works on Ubuntu 12.04 but not on 14.04.2.

It would be better if no file modification is need like xrandr or fbset. Just the command on setenv would be great.

Thanks in advance!
User avatar
GTRONICK
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 8:55 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: Change resolution on Wandboard Quad

Postby premier_10115 » Sat Sep 05, 2015 10:19 am

Hi GTRONICK,

I had a similar requirement. So, you can check out the following link to force resolution on your monitor.

http://sammart.in/linux/enabling-resolutions-in-ubuntu-12-04-lubuntu-12-04/

Regards.
premier_10115
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 10:18 am

Re: Change resolution on Wandboard Quad

Postby GTRONICK » Sat Sep 05, 2015 3:28 pm

Thankyou, i have already changed the resolution by using the operating system files, like xorg.conf or using xrandr (in my case). What i'm asking for, is why the resolution of 1024x768 is not applied from the boot parameters, like the setenv command at boot. With another monitor, the command i mentioned before, works great, keeping the resolution for boot, and for Ubuntu. The method I use, only change the resolution for Ubuntu, but the resolution at boot time is another. I mean:

When power on the Wandbard, the monitor shows a 1240x720 resolution, but once on ubuntu, the resolution change to 1024x768 thanks to an script i made for this pursose. However, i have specified the 1024x768 resolution in the setenv command, but this has no effect with this monitor. :oops:

Thanks in advance..
User avatar
GTRONICK
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 8:55 pm
Location: Colombia

Next

Return to Software - Ubuntu

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron