wandboard quad wifi ap mode

This is the place for software discussions not having a dedicated subforum

Re: wandboard quad wifi ap mode

Postby CruX » Fri May 30, 2014 12:28 pm

Okay.

That means I don't have to buy a second wandboard :)

Cheers
CruX
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 1:29 pm

Re: wandboard quad wifi ap mode

Postby JohnW » Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:10 pm

hitechor wrote:Besides, Yocto with AP enabled still can not bitbake.


Try it again. I fixed a problem yesterday that might help this.
JohnW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 3:01 pm
Location: United States

Re: wandboard quad wifi ap mode

Postby graffitici » Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:32 am

Hi all,

I'm still trying to get AP mode to work on the Wandboard. I have perused this thread several times, but it still doesn't work, and I could use some help. I'm using the latest 3.10.17 kernel, so the brcmfmac module should already have support for open APs. Here are the steps I tried:

* Copy the NVRAM for the Wandboard Dual to /lib/firmware/brcm/brcmfmac-sdio.txt
* Copy brcmfmac4329-sdio.bin to brcmfmac-sdio.bin
* Tried the files from https://android.googlesource.com/platform/hardware/broadcom/wlan/+/master/bcmdhd/firmware/bcm4329/. Copied each of them as /lib/firmware/brcm/brcmfmac-sdio.bin , and rebooted.

When I run hostapd, I get the following output:
Code: Select all
$hostapd /etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf
Configuration file: /etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf
Failed to create interface mon.wlan0: -95 (Operation not supported)
Could not set interface wlan0 flags (UP): Operation not permitted
nl80211: Could not set interface 'wlan0' UP
nl80211 driver initialization failed.
hostapd_free_hapd_data: Interface wlan0 wasn't started


Does anyone know what's wrong? Can anybody suggest a way for me to further troubleshoot this?

Thanks!
graffitici
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:33 pm

Re: wandboard quad wifi ap mode

Postby JohnW » Fri Jun 13, 2014 5:44 pm

Which version of hostapd are you using?
JohnW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 3:01 pm
Location: United States

Re: wandboard quad wifi ap mode

Postby graffitici » Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:43 pm

JohnW wrote:Which version of hostapd are you using?


I'm using hostapd version 2.2.
graffitici
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:33 pm

Re: wandboard quad wifi ap mode

Postby graffitici » Fri Jun 27, 2014 5:37 pm

JohnW wrote:I'm building a Yocto recipe to automate this process as well.


I'm trying to deconstruct your Yocto recipe in order to get to the bottom of my issues with AP-mode. I noticed that you are using the fw_bcm4329_apsta.bin file. I copied that same file to `/lib/firmware/brcm/brcmfmac-sdio.bin`. But I didn't find an nvram.txt file in your Yocto sources. When I just copy the `fw_bcm4329_apsta.bin` without an nvram.txt, the wireless card doesn't show up in `ip link`. I see the output below on dmesg.

Should I be using an nvram.txt file? How can you get around this in the Yocto recipe?

The output of my dmesg is:

Code: Select all
[    9.100145] brcmfmac: F1 signature read @0x18000000=0x9934329
[    9.100900] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdio_chip_drivestrengthinit: No SDIO Drive strength init done for chip 4329 rev 3 pmurev 6
[    9.996120] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdbrcm_download_nvram: Fail to request nvram -2
[   10.001879] brcmfmac: _brcmf_sdbrcm_download_firmware: dongle nvram file download failed
[   10.018087] brcmfmac: brcmf_bus_start: brcmf_sdbrcm_bus_init failed -1
[   10.023386] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdbrcm_probe: dongle is not responding
[   10.040693] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdio_probe: device attach failed
[   10.050480] brcmfmac: brcmf_ops_sdio_probe: F2 error, probe failed -19...


Thanks!
graffitici
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:33 pm

Re: wandboard quad wifi ap mode

Postby JohnW » Sat Jun 28, 2014 5:06 am

You'll need that file, for sure. We have this in the Yocto layer meta-fsl-arm-extra. Here is the link to download the file.

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Frees ... /nvram.txt

It actually needs to have a different name: brcmfmac-sdio.txt
Put that in /lib/firmware/brcm/brcmfmac-sdio.txt

John
JohnW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 3:01 pm
Location: United States

Re: wandboard quad wifi ap mode

Postby graffitici » Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:33 pm

JohnW wrote:Update - here is the git repository for a Yocto metadata layer to turn Wandboard Dual or Quad into an access point:

https://github.com/johnweber/meta-wandboard-ap

Instructions are in the README.

Enjoy!


Hi JohnW,

I'm trying to compile your Yocto recipe, but running into an issue with the dhcpd task. It seems like the files that are in the recipes-connectivity folder are not copied properly:
Code: Select all
| make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/bb/fsl-community-bsp/build/tmp/work/cortexa9hf-vfp-neon-poky-linux-gnueabi/dhcp/4.3.0-r0/build'
| make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/bb/fsl-community-bsp/build/tmp/work/cortexa9hf-vfp-neon-poky-linux-gnueabi/dhcp/4.3.0-r0/build'
| install: cannot stat `/home/bb/fsl-community-bsp/build/tmp/work/cortexa9hf-vfp-neon-poky-linux-gnueabi/dhcp/4.3.0-r0/wandboard-dhcpd.conf': No such file or directory
| WARNING: exit code 1 from a shell command.
| ERROR: Function failed: do_install (log file is located at /home/bb/fsl-community-bsp/build/tmp/work/cortexa9hf-vfp-neon-poky-linux-gnueabi/dhcp/4.3.0-r0/temp/log.do_install.22282)
ERROR: Task 1166 (/home/bb/fsl-community-bsp/sources/poky/meta/recipes-connectivity/dhcp/dhcp_4.3.0.bb, do_install) failed with exit code '1'


I copied the `wandboard-dhcpd.conf` and `dhcp-server` files manually to `/home/bb/fsl-community-bsp/build/tmp/work/cortexa9hf-vfp-neon-poky-linux-gnueabi/dhcp/4.3.0-r0/`, after which things worked fine. Not sure what the problem may be, but just a heads up!
graffitici
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:33 pm

Re: wandboard quad wifi ap mode

Postby jason » Sun Jan 04, 2015 5:46 am

I am curious if anyone got the WiFi to work flawlessly. I've been trying for WEEKS on my Quad.
jason
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 5:22 am

Re: wandboard quad wifi ap mode

Postby peterpressure » Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:44 pm

jason wrote:I am curious if anyone got the WiFi to work flawlessly. I've been trying for WEEKS on my Quad.


I have 2.4GHz AP mode working with John Weber's Yocto recipe but thats it!

Real bummer that 5GHz doesn't work, only reason I bought this board really! Dual band support!
peterpressure
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:53 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Software - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron