Wandboard Dual rev C1 W-fi problem (kernel 3.14.28)

Yocto related software discussions are here

Wandboard Dual rev C1 W-fi problem (kernel 3.14.28)

Postby sanityConf » Thu May 12, 2016 11:51 am

Greetings.
I am new to both the Wandboard and these forums.
I have no prior embedded Linux experience and am trying to get Wi-fi working with my Yocto build.

I am using the FSL community BSP Yocto 2.0 Jethro release:

http://freescale.github.io/#main-section

I can successfully build and use core-image-sato-sdk on the Wandboard Dual revision C1 board, but
the Wi-fi is not working.

The Wi-fi can work in general. I know it to work with the Arch Linux SD card image I got from the Wandboard download page:
http://www.wandboard.org/index.php/downloads

The kernel version that I get with my Yocto build is 3.14.28:

root@wandboard:~# uname -a
Linux wandboard 3.14.28_1.0.0_ga-wandboard+ge2df042 #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon May 9 16:46:24 EEST 2016 armv7l GNU/Linux

I need to use Yocto for a task at hand because it requires customizing my own distribution so using any pre-built images just to have Wi-fi enabled is not acceptable.

I am aware that revision C1 boards have a different Wi-fi module (BCM4330) than A and B.
I have also browsed around a lot and it sometimes seems that the problem has something to do with the Device-tree Blob (DTB) generated by Yocto,
but I am not exactly sure what to do. Should I decompile it, modify it and recompile it? Should I configure my Yocto scripts to generate the DTB differently instead?

How can I build or configure my own Yocto-based distribution to enable Wi-fi for my board?

P.S. I have tried entering the Wandboard IRC channel and writing my questions there, but there seems to be absolutely no activity there. Is this normal or am I misunderstanding something?
Is it possible to get a direct response from the Wandboard developers here? That would be most useful.
sanityConf

Re: Wandboard Dual rev C1 W-fi problem (kernel 3.14.28)